VORPS, a web-based system for writing and playing story games -- looking for feedback and GMs!

edited October 2012 in Directed Promotion
Hi everyone --

I'm a noob around these parts, having just discovered S-G via a link on John Harper's site. I've been working on a project that I think you all might find interesting, and I'd love to get your feedback. Hope I've chosen the right category here. (I was going to post to Praxis but it looks largely inactive...?)

My project is a web-based system for writing and playing story-driven games. It's light on rules and it's time-shifted, so that everyone can play at their own pace. I call it VORPS (lulz?), which maybe stands for Virtual Online Roleplaying System.

I set out to create VORPS because I missed the RPGs I used to play with friends many years ago (AD&D and Champions, and a little GURPS). But in the process of creating VORPS I think I ended up with something different. I'm not even sure it's an RPG. I think it is much closer to a "story game", as the term is used on these forums. It does have some elements of classic RPGs (health points, levels, and classes) but they're mostly there to provide just enough structure to drive player behavior.

VORPS is almost like a blog with simple game mechanics. It also has the concept of "sourcebooks", which are reusable, structured documents that define a setting and all of its components (character classes, items, history, GM guidelines, etc). Sourcebooks can be shared with other people, who can use them to run their own games and tell their own stories.

Here's an example game in progress -- one of the alpha test campaigns I'm running with some friends. (It's been going on for a few months so it might be easier to follow the story if you hit the "switch to book view" link to switch the game to chronological order.)

http://myvoiceismypassport.vorps.com/game/2

And here is the "sourcebook" that the campaign is based on:

http://myvoiceismypassport.vorps.com/sourcebook/1