Indie Games in Canada

edited July 2013 in Story Games
Listening to Mutualism is Dead has me thinking about the benefits of finding/developing a smaller game design support community. Specifically, I'm interested in a Canadian (or even Western Canadian) game design community (I'm in Regina, Saskatchewan).

Are there any other Canadian game designers here? What cons do you attend?
Are there any existing Canadian design communities / forums / blogs you are aware of?

Comments

• In Vancouver there's me, Adam Koebel, Johnstone Metzger, Toren Atkinson (who's done game design as well as being a comic artist and musician), Christoph Sapinsky, Brad Murray & co, and maybe others.

In Edmonton, there's James Brown and probably others.

In Montreal (I think?), there's Jason Pitre and probably others.
  • edited July 2013
    Folks to summon to this thread: @Johnstone, @Jason_Pitre, @blankshield
  • There are a number of us Canadian game designers prowling about. I am a designer from Ottawa, while the excellent Joe Mcdaldno is from BC.
    I tend to attend some of my local cons (such as CanGames), or travel down south to other regional cons such as Dreamation, Metatopia.
    In terms of Canadian design communies, I am unaware of any in particular. Sorry!
  • edited July 2013
    I'm in Toronto, along with a good number of other forum members, but none of us are high-profile game designers (that I know of). Most of us do like to discuss designs and have worked on a number of projects, however. I consider myself a bit of a designer, I've just never moved into the publishing field. I play my games locally, not having the energy for publishing and marketing.

I believe Anna Kreider is somewhere in Southern Ontario, as well.
  • What kind of community did you have in mind?