Yo, writer types -- Scrivener is on sale

edited April 2013 in Make Stuff!
Scrivener is on sale for half the usual cost. Thought folks on SG might be interested.

If you're not familiar with Scrivener, it's basically an elaborate and highly customizable front end on a database aimed at writers. Check out their website for more info. I've been using it for a couple years for my fiction -- it's great, I love it; the more features I discover, the more useful the software becomes for me. I started out skeptical of its approach and my potential need for this kind of organization but, honestly, it really won me over. And the software isn't useful only for fiction writers, I know plenty of people use it for non-fiction as well. The software is malleable enough that it ends up fitting whatever writing process you endorse; the program is appropriate for everything from novel writing to game design. Even if you use only 10% of its features, the app is worth it.

The link to the Amazon sale is here.

The developer's website is here.

Comments

• Thanks for the tip, I grabbed it.
  • It's absolutely worth the price.
  • Thanks for the tip! Very timely, I was just convinced to check it out yesterday.
  • Note that, if you buy this for the Mac, you can skip the moronic "Adobe Software Downloader" crap. Just activate the key that is emailed to you and download from the developer directly.
  • UPDATE: Sale appears to be over. Amazon price now showing as $40.
  • Since the sale is over, here's a question - does anyone use Scrivener as a "campaign manager" to keep track of GM prep or notes? Seems like it might have potential there.
  • Felan, I haven't, but I could absolutely imagine Scrivener doing that well. There are enough metadata options there to make even the most prep-happy GM happy.