I designed a video game. Now what?

edited November 2007 in Story Games
So, I have designed a video game. As in, I have written the design spec and done some storyboards and concept art and such. I am not a programmer.

Now what?

I am an outsider to the industry. I know a few people who do video game work, so of course I'll talk to them about it. But I don't expect it to be a good fit with their companies so it will have to find a home somewhere else.

Is this a fool's errand? Video game makers aren't sitting around waiting for some unknown guy to knock on their door with a game design. I imagine the modern video game market is a lot like the modern feature film market, which is more or less outsider-proof.

People in the know, help me out here. My game is awesome and I really want to see it developed.

Comments

• First question, and a VERY important one: Is your game possible to do in the casual games market, or would it have to be done by a major studio?

Titles for the Xbox 360 by Microsoft cost an average of $20 million to develop (a year old, cnn money http://money.cnn.com/2006/10/01/magazines/business2/episodic_gaming/index.htm). That's a big commitment for any business.

But there's more fluidity in the garagegame / popcap market. So that's something to consider.
  • What kind of technology / graphical engine does your game require? You could always make it yourself, with a few cronies to help you. The indie video game scene is just starting to get really happening.
  • I don't want to develop it myself. I like the indie video game scene, but it's not where I want to dedicate my life.

It would be a major console title, set up for a franchise kinda thing, even. And yeah, I know. $20 million. That's why I was thinking it's basically a fool's errand. I imagine I'm like the dude clutching his coffee-stained screenplay and ranting about how Hollywood just doesn't understand his genius.
  • RyRy
    edited November 2007