Help Make My Game More Collaborative

Howdy, all...

First a little blurb about myself. I've been playing RPGs for about 20 years now, and I've been playing mostly d20 since Third Edition came out in 2000. I currently am running two D&D games, one set in Monte Cook's Ptolus, the other set in a homebrewed campaign world.

This last weekend, I got to go a gaming/camping event called Camp Nerdly, and I played several more collaborative (or "hippie" as I heard them called) games such as the Shab-al-Hiri Roach, and I'm looking for tips on how to make my d20 games more collaborative.

I know that d20 is a "crunchier" rule system than those used in games like Roach, but my players are fond of it, and I like it too. I am trying, however, to figure out ways to give players more input in how the game turns out.

Here's what I do already or plan to do:

1. Polls: We use a Yahoo! Group for our games, and before every adventure I post a poll on the group, asking what the players want to do next. I take the top two or three choices and weave them into a story.
2. Affirmation: If the players want to do something, say yes first, then add to the idea. "I want to sell the drugs we took off that criminal." "Ok, let's see if you can find a buyer...." The players' characters are the stars of the show.
3. Collaborative Mapping: When drawing a map for a battle, I let the players offer little details that may or may not help them in the fight.
4. Let the Players Lead: Sometimes the players just get a different idea of where the story is going. Don't reject it, try to run with it.

If you guys know of any other techniques or tips that might help, please let me know. Thanks!

Comments

• edited May 2007