Good introductions to story gaming

edited March 2007 in Story Games
Hello all,

First off let me apologize if this topic comes up way too frequently - I tried searching for something similar but found nothing. On to the topic: I currently have the opprotunity to intoduce two of my close friends to story gaming. We were all going to play in a friend's game of D&D, but it is looking like his schedule is not going to be able to fit a game. Knowing that I run games frequently they bring up the fact that I could run, but I am not really good at running D&D so I tell them that I could run something else instead, which they show interest in.

I briefly explain to them what I like in gaming, and talk to them about what they want to do. One has only played D&D, and he has played it several times. The other does not have very much experience with roleplaying at all, aside from a few one shots here and there. They both are very keen on fantasy, and seem a little weirded out by no-gm or rotating gm styles of play. Joining us will be one of my other friends who has had experience playing all sorts of games with me. After talking for a while we decide to go see 300 and talk about it more tomorrow.

So I guess what I want to know - what story games have people had good experiences with when introducing them to players who have only had D&D or little rp experience before? Are there any pitfalls I should look out for? Any tips or ideas I should keep in mind before heading into this?

Comments

• One thing I would avoid is hitting anybody with "theory talk" or drawing any great distinctions between "the games you guys know" and "the cool games I'm about to show you." Nobody likes that. The specific advice would vary from game to game.

Right now I'm in a (somewhat) analogous situation: there's a new player in our group who has only played traditional games. But he's a longtime Forge reader so he already gets that there's a different style.