The predicate easily explained

Unlike the word diegesis which thankfully pretty much only means one thing, the word predicate can mean a bunch of different things since it's been used by many different disciplines over the years.

In traditional grammar, with which we are most concerned, a predicate is a property or state or quality of something else. The sky is blue. See Spot run.

Comments

• Right — the way I was taught it is “a sentence has two parts: the subject and the predicate”. So it’s everything that’s not the subject.

How is it used in RPGs? These days I only hear the word in the formal-logic sense of “a function returning true or false”, as I’m a programmer...
  • The orc is next to the wizard.
  • Well yeah; but what I’m asking is: when/how do people use the word “predicate” when pontificating about roleplaying games?
  • It's not common theory jargon, but if I understand Sandra correctly, the old Forge-speak (via Vincent) for her "predicate" would be "elements of exploration" and "fictional positioning". It's basically an attempt at rigorous description of the internal structure of a given fiction. Specifically, you'll note that predicate relationships are the natural way for distinct fictional elements to exhaustively relate to each other nearly always in roleplaying.

I like to speak of "qualities" myself, specifically "qualitative systematization" when it comes to using game mechanics that specifically rely on assigning and manipulating predicates. This contrasts with "quantitative systems" that concern themselves with relative scales of fixed attributes. While qualitative structuration is natural for storytelling and therefore roleplaying, quantitative systematization is something that rather took over roleplaying through the '80s, with consequences that we see to this day.