What could we do to make Story Games feel more welcoming to new contributors?

This was inspired by the recent thread about whether Story Games is an insular community. Since some folks have felt that it is and were willing to share their experience, I think it would be worth setting some goals as a community to be more inclusive.

I am by no means an expert on this, but I'm interested in contributing to a dialogue about it.

My initial suggestions:
- A few more ongoing threads (or regularly renewed topics) that are welcoming to new posters and allow for low-stakes contributions (like "What did you play this week?").
- A greater commitment to defining terms within a thread and avoiding insider jargon where possible. This could take the form of a regular practice of asking others to define their terms when uncertain. (I tend to leave jargon-y threads rather than ask for clarification).
- Avoiding conversations across threads where possible. I sometimes get confused when regular posters seem to be responding to comments from past conversations that I as I third-party haven't read.

I would love to hear more suggestions or things I can do as a member of the forum to be more welcoming to new folks.

Comments

• Yes! I think about the jargon, maybe a sticky thread to serve as a sort of dictionary. I think there is one not sticky thred which I found when I joined and tried to use the search function to find out what spicy play was or something like that. In a current thread I’m cueless to the meaning of abreviations like CA or SIS. If there’s be a kind of sticky jargon post to refer to or, of not there ask clarification for a term, I feel that might help.

In the insular community post there was a mention of women not feeling welcome, but not a mention as to why (that I’ve found), so if some of the wm’en could elaborate on that, that would be nice. I’d like to know when I’m unwittingly chauvinistic so that I can cut it out!