Playing D&D With Beginners

Hi Folks,

So this is a break-out thread. from the "what did you play this week" post; here's my original message:

After trying for a long time to get a group together to focus on story games, I gave up and got a D&D 5e group instead. There’s a plethora of players out there wanting DMs, so after just a bit of screening I got 5 players who were willing to put up with my savage house ruling of 5e :-) I changed alignment, XP, initiative, and inspiration, among other things.

Two of the players are new to role-playing, and seem to be enjoying it so far, but it’s been so long since I’ve been a beginner that I worry if I’m treating them as best I can. I do try to make sure they’re not overwhelmed with rules technicalities. The newest player is still a bit shy about participating - for example she mostly stayed out of the recent dragon encounter. If anyone has any tips about making new players comfortable, I’m all ears!

Also if you find any particular house rules that make it easier for beginners, would love to know about them.

Comments

• Excellent! I'll copy my post from the other thread, and remind you to tell us what your house rules are.
    Most of my thoughts fall under the umbrella of "don't play D&D5", unfortunately. (The game is far too complex for beginners, in my opinion, and receives an overrated reputation as a "simple" game just because it's lighter in form than 3rd or 4th.)
    I think limiting the game to the Basic/Quick Start rules would help, as well omitting classes and races with complex abilities (like spells). The slower the leveling up happens the better, as well. Ultimately, though, D&D5 relies quite a bit on the players knowing the rules and using them as well as they can (e.g. using Disengage regularly as a Rogue; forgetting to do so affects your survivability dramatically).