DW GM Advice

Tomorrow I'm going to run my first session of Dungeon World. I've been looking forward to this for a long time, which means I've been reading a lot of the material suggested by the DW subreddit, rereading the rules, etc. Given that there's a recent influx of new and returning perspectives from the end of G+, I thought I'd start a fresh thread here asking for general system advice.

Folks who have run Dungeon World (or, more broadly, PbtA games), or players who had strong opinions about the way your game was run: What is the most crucial tip you would give someone who has GMed other games, but is new to the Apocalypse?

Comments

• Don't go right to the moves. Hang out in the fiction a while until you've got a clear idea that the move has occurred. Then go to the moves when you just can't stand it anymore! It makes the outcome feel a lot better.
  • To the extent that my opinion matters (I have no experience running DW, quite some experience MCing AW, and what little I know of DW is enough to believe that AW and DW share a little bit of tech but absolutely no creative goals, they're different beasts)...

Never, ever think "now a battle starts, let's enter battle mode". There's no separate battle mode. There's no roll for initiative. There are no sub-games. The flow of play is the same, for a tense conversation or a chase or a fight or an extended training montage or a sex scene or what-you-have. In fact, all of those - and more - can happen in parallel. Think like a movie fight scene, not like an RPG fight.
  • Related to both points above:

When things feel unclear, uncertain, you're not sure what to say or what move to use... always "zoom in" more.