[Dust Devils] Forced Abortion Plot Ends in Bloodbath

edited August 2018 in Actual Play
I ran Dust Devil for the first time yesterday as a one-shot. We had a total blast but I'd like to get advice on some minor snags.

I thought I'd have two players but my friends' 18-year old teenage son and his girlfriend, a total newbie, both spontaneously joined in (and utterly rocked the game!).

PCs:
Capt'n K, an ex-soldier turned Pinkerton thug, bent on punishing criminals
Little Thunder, an Indian hunter turned vagabond, filled with hatred of the railway (teen 1)
Bella Jordie, a battered housewife transformed into a sadistic gunslinger (teen 2)
Pink Patty, an ex-midwife turned backstreet abortionist, traumatized by mercy killing a dozen women/babies after an Indian raid.

Pink Patty's Devil seemed interesting but murky to me, but despite some discussion we failed to refine it. As a result, it was the only Devil that fell flat and never affected play (despite a story which turned out to have a forced abortion). Any ideas on what we could have done?

I used the Romeo-and-Juliet scenario from the rulebook, but immediately modified it with Juliet's father being a railway mogul, Juliet being pregnant and the saloon owner hiring Pink Patty and Little Thunder to suggest and possibly enforce an abortion (to hide his involvement in hiding the liason). I half-expected the PCs to turn down the job offer and rat out or kill the saloon owner, but I suspect the players were into a D&D-ish "follow the plot" mindset. The other PCs ended up as Juliet's bodyguards so a bloody end became all but inevitable.

When the second recruitment scene dragged on (after Juliet had poured out her heart to Bella Jordie), I had a messenger arrive with news that Romeo was being beaten to a pulp by the cowboys of Juliet's father at the saloon. Quite heavy-handed, but it was a one-shot and I wanted to get things moving.