[Muse] Actual Play - Proxima b Generation Ship

Hi all,

I've been hiding under the rock of new parenthood for too many years, and I finally got the chance to play some Muse with friends! I'm going to write up my experience here. If you're curious, the game can be downloaded for free here: http://benn.ca/muse

----

STORY SEED

The original premise (Story Seed in Muse parlance) was a generation ship on its way to colonize Proxima b, something like 150 years in the future. The story's action started as the ship arrived at Proxima b, where the colonists didn't quite know what to expect because the probes they had sent ahead had inexplicably stopped working. The colonists had left Earth because humans had managed to irrecoverably destroy the Earth's environment.

Here are some important Wikipedia facts pertinent to the story: Proxima b is a newly discovered Earth-like planet orbiting Proxima Centauri, the closest star to our Sun at a distance of 4.24 light years. Proxima Centauri is a "flare star", which means that it gives off occasional great bursts of x-rays, making for possibly very interesting wildlife on Proxima b. The planet itself would be a bit larger than Earth. Using a nuclear pulse powered ship (that is a ship powered by exploding nuclear bombs behind it) it would be possible to reach there in about 100 years.

----

We tried a new brainstorming rule that I'm experimenting with, and it helped us come up with a bunch of good ideas for the Story Sheet (which contains the main elements of the story). Here what we came up with:

STORY SHEET

Character: Jake Blacklock - an American sanitation engineer and microbiologist
Relationship: Secret member of the Gatekeepers of Eden, a cult that doesn't want humans destroying any more worlds
Goal: Stop colonization of Proxima b

Character: Su Yi Chen - Chinese, ship's captain, dual Olympic gold medalist in archery and biathlon, hobbyist beekeeper