What is your favorite game?

edited May 2016 in Actual Play
Hey guys! I'm a first time designer, I probably haven't consumed as many games as most and was just wondering what everyone's favorite narrative based system is. So far, for what I like, Pbta games have been the closest I've come as to what I look for in a roleplaying experience, how about you?

Comments

• Hey! :)
    My answer to you is "mu" (meaning: your question is wrong).

Especially if you are looking into design it is important to understand the medium.
    All rpgs are "narrative based" ... the fundamental activity is to have a bunch of people around a table describing stuff to each other with the mediation of rules.

So you basically asked people "which is your favorite rpg?".
    Why don't you start instead by better defining which games you liked, and why?

Saying PbtA is a start but it embraces sooo many and sooo different games, it is almost like saying nothing.
    And different PbtA games often have less glamorous but still very substantial differences.
    So if you love Dungeon World you might still not like Monsterhearts; if you are into Tremulus you might not care for Monster of the Week, or you might have a thing for Sundered Lands and Murderous Ghosts which are still PbtA but are also pretty out there ;)

Tell us about you.
    About your favorite games, and the why.
    And why are you interested in game design... do you have a project in mind?
    Stuff like that.
    This way people can offer you answers and suggestions that are more useful and to the point for you.
  • For the ordinary, average, everyday walking around version of "narrative", I like the World of Darkness games, specifically the Chronicles of Darkness version currently extant.
  • I'm generally a big FAE (Fate Accelerated Edition) fan, but now that I'm running Uncharted Worlds I'm starting to come around to being more of a PbtA fan, too.