Game Websites

edited May 2015 in Directed Promotion
(I wasn't sure what category to put this in, so I'm considering the target audience of this category; people who have games promoted or ready to promote.)

So, one of the things the pros will tell you is that you have to have a website for your game. Being a web developer, I'm down with that as a concept. But what should you put on your website? What sorts of things do you find most useful about other games' websites?

Comments

• Because this thread is self-serving as well as community-serving, I'll start with the reason I ask. This is a thing now: http://daytrippersrpg.com/

I've installed a Forum, and I'm wondering what topics might work best in it. But since the site is brand-spankin-new, I'm still open to all other sorts of changes and ideas, so I'm asking y'all.

• I rarely visit games' websites.

When I do, I think I most enjoy and appreciate seeing the following:

* Easily accessible downloads/materials. Makes me want to come back often. Sites which make a lot of rules documents or materials available are attractive (as opposed to, for instance, having to log into DruveThruRPG to download a character sheet).

* An active community. (Not necessarily in the site's owner's hands, of course.)

* Lots of good Actual Play reports (or, more likely, links to the same)

* Interesting discussion (e.g. blog posts) on the design features of the game in question. ("Here's how the experience system in our game works, and why we designed it that way: ...")

Overall, I enjoy seeing less advertising/selling and more open discussion or analysis.
  • Same here: posts about design goals tied with Actual Play reports in particular (I came with X mechanic because Y, see how that ends up working in scenario Z/AP).

Information about the game, along with a collection of reviews (or links to reviews) done by other people is always nice.