Impressionistic dungeons

edited April 2015 in Directed Promotion
I wrote an adventure location to go with some art cards I've been making.
I basically tried to record my normal process of prep-by-daydreaming, and ended up with something pretty impressionistic. No story, just sensory info and some prompts.

I have no experience making or using adventure modules, so I'd love to hear from those who use or make them: what's useful for your game?

Comments

• Oh my word, this is fantastic. It's exactly the sort of thing that would make a great Dungeon World module, in my opinion.
  • This is fantastic! I really dig. It's even fun to read.

Some thoughts:

* The moves are sometimes a little too forgiving for my tastes. I'd prefer to see a "choose 1" on a 7-9, and "choose 2" on a 10+ for some of those. But that's an easy modification to make, if I want to do that.

* What is the Monkey Gate? Is it just a name, or is there some meaning to it? I had the most trouble imagining this one.

* The main thing that I often need from a module is not the sensory details (although yours are amazing) but a general sense of logic for the existence of the thing.

You hint at this in the Rumors section, but, beyond that, you ask the GM to come up with stuff on the fly and then hope it makes sense later.

So, for me, I would want to add something about the general state of thing; why is it here, why are WE here, and what's behind it?

Having a general sense of what the thing IS before starting would allow me to use this whole thing on-the-fly, without even reading it first. Otherwise, it's still possible, but more difficult.

Anyway, these are minor comments. This is really lovely!
  • Also, the thread title brought to mind something like these pictures:

Impressionist

Dungeons

(Not guaranteed to be accurate representations of anything...)
  • @Paul_T , I think I agree the player moves could be more brutal, good call