[Agon] Heal / Orate / Interlude questions

edited October 2013 in Play Advice
Our group pulled out Agon yesterday and ran into a problem with Heal and oaths and interludes. Our big question is a rules question:

When cashing in an oath during an interlude to compel someone to heal you, is that their scene choice for the interlude and they can't do anything else? Is it yours? Or is it free?

If theirs, having high heal is a big disadvantage. If yours, okay but the text doesn't seem to indicate that. If free, the Antagonist misses a lot of strife. ?

Also, having high Orate and finding yourself woundless without much impairment... Is there something we're missing, or does that mean the wounded are screwed because they'll never (or not for a while) get interludes? High-orate hero can just never agree to rest...?

Comments

  • edited October 2013
    My Agon-fu is a little rusty, but…
    When cashing in an oath during an interlude to compel someone to heal you, is that their scene choice for the interlude and they can't do anything else? Is it yours? Or is it free?
    It's the compelled character's action for the Interlude, but it cost an Oath. That's not a trivial price.

    If you want to talk being an Oath magnet, try having +2 on an ability.
    Also, having high Orate and finding yourself woundless without much impairment... Is there something we're missing, or does that mean the wounded are screwed because they'll never (or not for a while) get interludes? High-orate hero can just never agree to rest...?
    Yeah, I could tell you a story about Interlude hubris, pride going before fall…

    In short: yes that's how it works. But if one hero has no need to Interlude then they probably conserved their resources when other people were burning them. Now it's payback. That's Agon.
  • Oh now I'm definitely confused. Why does having +2 to an ability make you an Oath magnet?

    Sounds like oath compelling help might be more... compelling than we played. We had the helper able to help with whatever skill he chose (appropriately narrated), and the roller just got an extra die, no attached plusses.
  • The plusses count. If someone uses an Oath to get you to help with an ability you have a +2 on, they get that +2 (just like if you helped yourself with that ability). The bonus applies to the highest die rolled.

    You can help with whatever ability you can explain, based on what help the person asked for. Smart askers will try to phrase the request so you help with the ability they want.
  • Oh, Agon... you're so mean.
Sign In or Register to comment.