Pocket Anima Prime 1.1

edited September 2013 in Story Games
In the spirit of Pocket Danger Patrol, I made a version of Anima Prime whose rules fit on one sheet, with enemy, goal, and hazard design on the back. Some of the rules are quite different, but the spirit of the game is the same. And now you can combine one of 8 backgrounds with one of 7 professions (both on cards for ease of assembly), pick a passion, and have a full character ready to go.

It's not pretty, because I'm not a graphic designer like other folks, and I haven't had a chance to test it yet. But hey, in the spirit of sharing, here it is:

EDIT: now up to version 1.1:

Pocket Anima Prime 1.1

Comments

• When do we play?

I like the idea of a GM judging narration not on a quantitative scale as in Sorcerer or Beast Hunters, but on this qualitative scale and then each of the Styles get a bonus of some kind. I wonder what even further development might bring.
  • Yes, please!
  • Looks good! I've made a couple of tilts at reading Anima Prime, but never made it through. This is more manageable.

I've always appreciated Anima Prime's Creative Commons BY-SA licence. Is this under the same licence?
  • OK, first impressions:

— I really appreciate that you're substantially simplifying AP, as a design goal, and not just providing a condensed game text. Setup times seem to be greatly reduced in this variant: not just the time to prepare characters sheets, but also the time to explain how the game is played (though, of course, familiarity with Ghostfield is required to understand this text).

— I like Hazards. These are a nice addition to the game.

— Conditions should be made into cards, making them effortless (rather than cumbersome) to keep track of. Since the game is already carried around as a pack of cards anyway, I can see no reason not to.