Division of roles in Lady Blackbird

edited June 2013 in Play Advice
Hi, I'm new here. If this already exists somewhere on Story Games, then sorry for asking again.

I am thinking of running Lady Blackbird, and I am new to games that give narrative control to players. Previously I've run and played D&D, Savage Worlds and a number of other systems that generally assume the player is only responsible for what they do and how they do it.

I've been reading as much as I can about modern (indie) RPG design, which is what led me to Lady Blackbird. In a number of places I've found people expressing the idea that the person who introduces a conflict shouldn't be the one who resolves it. This makes sense to me. You want to have interesting obstacles in a story, but if the players are advocates for a single character (as they are in this game) then they will be torn between making an interesting challenge and doing what is best for their character.

Which leads me to this part of Lady Blackbird's text, which lists examples of questions for the GM to ask:

“Does anything break when you do this crazy maneuver?”
“The fire probably spreads out of control doesn’t it?”
“That sounds like a bold plan. What’s the first step?”
“Do the two of you end up somewhere quiet together? Does something
happen between you?”
“Do you know anything about the Crimson Sky rebels? What are they
like? Is it normal for them to be this far into the Empire?”