Please recommend a proper RPG!

edited February 2013 in Play Advice
Hello everyone, I’m just getting into RPG’s and I have a question.

I’m primarily a boardgamer but I enjoy reading RPG rules. Once a month my boardgaming group plays D&D (4th ed) and it’s..... well, boring (you know what it’s like: “I check for traps” DM rolls behind his screen. “You find nothing”. “OK, I check again”, **rolls**, “You find nothing”, “OK, I check again” etc. And as for the combat, roll, miss - roll, hit - roll, miss etc).

Recently I got my hands on Mouse Guard and it went down an absolute blast (after the players got over looking at their skills and stats to decide what their mice were capable of and began to actually roleplay).

So my question is this: If I want something hackable (and the ‘Nature’ stat in MG makes hacking problematic), what system do you recommend?

I’m looking at Apocalypse World (as I hear good things about Dogs in the Vineyard by the same person, plus stuff like Ghost Lines seems mindblowing and I like the apocalyptic/supernatural vibe).

Or should I choose a GM-less system like Fiasco which has various different scenarios? (This seems less likely to be able to be configured into a campaign).

Or should I stick with MG (a system I am growing to love) and try to hack it? (Not sure if I have the mental agility to turn sword-wielding mice into a supernatural apocalypse!)

I love the ideas inherent in games such as Ghost/Echo and Apocalypse World that require the players to contribute to the worldbuilding. Anything that encourages proactive roleplay rather than the traditional reactive one-dimensional player responses is what I need for my group.

Many thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Alan.

Comments

• If you like Mouse Guard, stick with it. It's great. You could try Burning Wheel if your group prefers fantasy.

Apocalypse World is great and there's a fantasy hack of it, Dungeon World, which many people like.