Hacking Call of Cthuhu for Win and avoiding Fail

edited November 2012 in Story Games
Okay, everybody plays CoC for different reasons. For me, it's an adventure game with horror themes set in the interwar years with close-to-normal-people ranges of ability for the characters.

It's also a game a lot of folks really love, and a distinct number of other folks have tried to play, only for it to end in deep frustration.

Here are some things that I've done that may help that second group of people.

1) Make sure you and your players know what you're getting into ahead of time.
I started playing in the early/mid 1980s with folks who'd mostly played D&D or other TSR adventure games. Today, folks have other backgrounds in games. Try to explain this thing in reference to what they already know.

2) Decide how long you intend to play the characters.
There's a very different and worthwhile approach to making characters for a one-shot versus a short campaign vs an open-ended campaign.
For a one-shot, you may just plain want to use pre-gens. Fictional ties to the adventure aside, build them with high level, relevent skill sets, small in number, using the chargen rules as guidelines or ignoring them entirely.

It's an old game. For any non-combat skills, give them much higher score, since they'll tend to be rolled less frequently. That Punch or Pistol score can be half or less of their skill in Chemistry, since they might roll that combat score 3-5 times in quick order in an action scene, where that Chemistry skill might only be used a couple of time during the entire adventure.

Modify this approach the closer to book chargen rules the closer you get to wanting to play a more traditional open-ended campaign.