Panel discussions at Metatopia 2012

edited October 2012 in Story Games
Hey guys! I'm working on the panel and seminar tracks of Metatopia 2012 this week. I'd love to hear some suggestions for panel topics you'd like to see (or participate in if you're coming!) Please note that the "editorial viewpoint" of the show is aimed at designers and publishers about the new games they're producing. Thanks in advance! dw

Comments

• I would love a variety of seminars/panels dealing with:
    1) Introduction to Art Direction
    2) How to learn basic art and design skills
    3) Open Source Publishing Tools; Strengths and Weaknesses (I have some experience)
    4) Effective Game Text Organization
    5) Elegant and clean layouts
    6) International Partnerships and Translations
  • edited October 2012
    I'm excited to help with panels!

Areas I have expertise:

- Building Communities;
    - General Playtesting;
    - Usability Testing;
    - Blind Playtesting;
    - Finding Playtesters;
    - Talking to customers, critics, and enemies;
    - Building a team;
    - Why should people care about your game;
    - Playstorming;
    - Running small conventions;
    - Conflict resolution;
    - Hiring / Firing people;
    - Negotiating contracts;
    - Non-evil Marketing;
    - Watching what people do, not what they say;
    - How to make great game aids;
    - Text is more important than rules - playtest your text;
    - Art directing, working with creatives.

I would like to see:

- Crowd Funding;
    - Applying for Grants;
    - Taxes;
    - Playtesting through G+ Hangouts;
    - International Gaming;
    - How to be cool like Jason Morningstar;
    - How to troll trolls;
    - Social Media;
    - Someone stole my idea;
    - Someone is pirating my game;
    - Diversifying your audience;
    - Am I not Indie enough;
    - How to get to Gen Con when you're poor;
    - How to make your game not racist / sexist;
    - How to be the next D&D;