Which non-fiction books should I read?

edited December 2011 in Story Games
I know this is an unorthodox topic for this site, but SG is full of really cool and smart people and I'd like to pick your brain.
It's also a pseudo-necro of this thread. (Andy if you think they should be merged, go ahead.)

To make it more gaming related, tell me
a) what games you've run based on non-fiction books or
b) how you would run a game based on a non-fiction book that you recommend

I'm not really looking for philosophy, because I studied it and I already have a pretty good idea of what I still need to read. History, finance, sociology, anthropology and similar topics very welcome.
Bonus points if it's something outlandish, like an account of some obscure historical episode (Jason Morningstar I'm looking at you).

Comments

• edited December 2011
    First read: On Rope: North American Vertical Rope Techniques
    Then watch: Nordwand
    Yummy.

Also, consider: Generations: The History of America's Future, 1584 to 2069
    I could see doing games that dealt with generation gaps or a game played out in successive generations with each new generation responding to previous generations.
  • After reading The Last Mughal, which is about the Great Mutiny and the sacking of Delhi, I've wanted to run a game where the PCs live in a city that is on the verge of undergoing similar circumstances. I'm not sure I would make it a historical game, but I think that would be a good situation to launch a Burning Wheel game with. It's really tense and tragic. Maybe I'd do it just a straight situation of humans and imperial powers and the nastiness of war, though I've thought of making the city a dwarven hold that's fallen under the dominion of men, and who use the greed and godlessness of the dwarves as an excuse to sack the hold of its treasures.
  • edited December 2011
    Anyone playing medieval fantasy would do well to read A Distant Mirror by Barbara Tuchman.