RPGs: Why I stopped playing them and what I did about it

edited September 2011 in Directed Promotion

Hi all,

During my youth, one of my favourite hobbies had always been playing RPGs. I started playing them almost as soon as I could read. As I grew from a child into a teenager RPGs became even more fun. I had lots of time to put into my games and my intellectual capacity was increasing, which allowed me to derive a lot more enjoyment from my play sessions. As I grew into an adult and joined the working world (this would be around 2006) I ran headlong into a wall. It was no longer possible for me to keep playing RPGs the way I used to--in fact, I was finding it harder and harder to play them at all anymore.

The main reasons were:

1. I lacked the time to do the research and setup required to develop interesting fictional worlds and characters.
  2. On those rare occasions when I did have the time to play, the fun-to-work ratio was not high enough. In short, I wasn't enjoying myself anymore.

I put some serious thought into how RPGs worked to try to figure out what wasn't working for me anymore. Here are some of the issues I came up with:

1. The fictional world must support a group of PCs. Typically, RPGs are played with 1 GM and 3 or 4 players. Therefore, since each player has one character the fictional world must support stories that can involve more than one main character. Unfortunately, many of history's greatest stories only involve one main character. It's also very common for works of fiction to switch the focus back and forth between different groups of characters. This is very difficult to do in RPGs. Switching the focus around means that some players will actually be playing while others will be left idle for extended periods of time.