Playing Dungeon World Hack tomorrow; advice please?

edited February 2011 in Play Advice
Hello story-gamers!

I'm planning on running Dungeon World Hack for some friends tomorrow. I have all the material I need printed out, I've read Apocalypse World and ran a dozen sessions or so, and I've been playing and running D&D intermittently for 15 years.

That being said, I am not the world's most confident or well-organized GM. Would you guys be so kind as to offer advice, links, actual player reports, and the like? I have about 20 hours of work to do before tomorrow evening, or I would gladly troll the internet endlessly absorbing data.

I'm playing with a dear friend who just got out of the military and hasn't played anything since we were kids, and two hardcore White-Wolf fans who used to play D&D with me in the past (one of whom I have hooked on Dogs in the Vineyard and Apocalypse World). Both of the White-Wolf guys have played Apocalypse World with me, and both of them love it. One has gone so far as to run his own successful game, but he doesn't quite play as procedurally as the AW text demands.

Anyway, I hope that's enough data.

Cheers!

ETA: Also, the Dungeon World Hack seems to be missing some data that was in the old versions, namely how to make monsters and stuff. Can I still find that information somewhere?

Comments

• They've been reworking the monsters and fronts sections, and so that stuff is, at the moment, not part of the Dungeon World Hack download. However, if you join up with the Adventurers Guild, you'll get access to the "latest builds" which do include that material. My suggestion, If you don't have time to wait and still have access to the older versions, just use the monster rules from those.

Other general advice- start right into the action; keep things moving along at a brisk pace; ask the players lots of directed questions that inform the story ("It's an ambush! What devious trap have the bugbears used to catch you?").