[LARP Actual Play] Crime pays, a weekend citywide LARP

edited September 2006 in Actual Play
I'm not very experienced in writing an analytical actual play report, but I'll give it a shot and try to illustrate how a 360-degree LARP is run, what the game play is like, how I experienced this particular LARP as a player and what I think worked and what did not from my account and in general (based on other players comments and my observations). This is going to be a long one, though I'll try to concentrate on the actual experience and not the why's and how's. Please ask questions and clarifications if you want to know about something specific.

Crime pays was a weekend LARP played in early June, lasting from early friday evening to late saturday evening (around 30 hours in all). It was a city-LARP which meant that the playing area was not restricted; the game had designated playing areas around Helsinki metropolitan area, both downtown and in the suburbs. Most of the players knew only two or three of these locations - I think it had around 10 of them in all. Transportation was provided either through a public transportation (which is in pretty good shape in Helsinki), by car (players with cars paid half of the game fee), by walking or by taxi (not a very popular choice). Cell phones were used for long-distance communications.

The setting and theme centered around criminal activity, from street gangs to the upper echelons. There were around 60 players and 10 organisers controlling the game and playing NPC's. There were two known major factions in the game, which had a "professional" criminal gang and a street gang, several smaller factions (arms dealers, pimps and hookers, underground medical facility, an illegal bar considered to be neutral ground, and so on) and some independent characters.