[Apocalypse World] Weird West Hack: Let's do it!

edited August 2010 in Game Design Help
I've been thinking a lot about how rad Apocalypse World would be in a Weird West setting. I'm thinking a lot about Deadlands for inspiration, but maybe divorced from the metaplot a bit (a lot of a bit). I mostly like Hucksters using cards as spell foci and some historical stuff, like the Sioux and Texas Rangers and the Pinkertons.

Can we brainstorm this? Are people interested in helping? Are people interested in playing? I'm running an online AW game (a month or two old), a tabletop AW game (we're about to play session 2), and participating in a Google Wave AW game (a little more than a month old, I think). I have some experience but not a lot.

Any of you wastelanders out there wanna talk this out and get a task force started? I'll get started with my mission stated upfront:

A Weird West alternative history hack for Apocalypse World, equal parts Deadlands and Deadwood.

Ready go!

Comments

• Sounds cool. I would suggest also starting a thread on the "hacks" forum over at apocalypse-world.com, if you haven't already.
  • Oh, yeah, I did that. Forgot to mention it. I'm exhausted, but I'll link to it here tomorrow.
  • I want! It would be good to have a hack geared more directly toward that setting. However, for the impatient among us, do you think AW as it is could sort of be adapted without much trouble, as long as all the players agree?
  • Kayfall: I very much think that. It wouldn't take much doing to write a short amount about what thematic things need changing, do a bit of name-swapping, and play a Weird West game.