[Fiasco] Firan style

edited April 2010 in Actual Play
I played Fiasco!

I created a Firan playset and invited some of my local friends who also happened to play on Firan. Firan is a MUSH with a low-magic, Iron-Age theme, and I've been running it for like 13 years now.

My brother Jason, who is only vaguely familiar with Firan, plus Tanja and Melissa (two Firan players) joined me.

Setup

I gathered eight gold dice and eight red dice (we didn't have black and white d6es), rolled them, and passed out notecards. I explained a bit about the game and we started. Having a few copies of the Playset I created helped immensely. We didn't have to pass the book around.

Jason and I shared a RELATIONSHIP: Crush and object of crush with OBJECT: Shamibelian war plans. (Shamibelians are the horned evil enemy race.)
Tanja and Jason shared a RELATIONSHIP: Servant and boss with OBJECT: Fine carriage and horse team.
Melissa and Tanja shared a RELATIONSHIP: Madame of the Dove and a prostitute with LOCATION: The White Dove (a brothel).
I and Melissa shared a RELATIONSHIP: Priest/ess and worshipper with NEED: To get out of the city, before the upcoming Shamibelian invasion.

We talked about characters.

I played a priest of Zutiv (Zeus-ish) who was a coward. We decided he was from the Hydra Clan (Firan has eight clans named after monsters and such, and each clan has particular traits -- Hydrans are rather Spartan in nature). Against all social expectation, he was a frequent patron of the ladies of the White Dove. That's how he knew Melissa's character. She was going to help him escape the city.

Melissa played the prostitute (Dove girl). She turned out to be a shifty and untrustworthy thing. Tanja played the Madam of the White Dove, and thus Melissa's boss. Jason played a manservant / bodyguard / wagon driver for Tanja. We decided he was half-Shamibelian, who are treated poorly in the city and are not trusted.