[Show Me The Game You Want] What Did We Show?

2»

Comments

• Posted By: JaroslavAlso, when a city or other kind of setting is really important in a novel or movie, people often say that it was as if the city (or the mountain, or the space station, or whatever) WAS as character. I'm pretty new to indie games, so there may be great examples of this that already exist (in fact, I'm almost sure there are), but it seems to me that if you want, for instance, a city that is so cool and interesting that it pervades the game at every turn, there should be some kind of mechanic to encourage this, and the city needs some kind of traits and statistics that describe the mechanical effect of living there. Otherwise, the really awesome setting you pick fades to the background.
    I like this a lot. Just sayin' :)
  • Posted By: Ben LehmanHuh. Do you have the same feeling about art in game books?
    Good question. Partly, in a game book I'm already kind of bought in to the character types. If I'm reading Mountain Witch with an eye toward playing it, a picture of a samurai looking fretful is helpful and evocative, because I'm thinking about that kind of character.

But mostly, yes. Landscape pictures get my creative energy going more than characters. D&D books, for example, often have great art. But I'll pass over ten awesome, weirdly-dressed warriors and focus on the picture of a ruined castle or a planar city.
    Posted By: ColinCI like this a lot. Just sayin'
    Me too. New thread!

Also, hi John! We gotta get our Burning City game going again, but in that city where Chinese temples are sitting up on giant spires (from the picture thread). The Black Hand will have NOWHERE TO HIDE.
  • RyRy
    edited October 2009
    willem's one made me think "Burning Wagon, Luke Crane's answer to Dogs in the Vineyard."

nemomeme's airships are gorgeous, I felt the same way about Johnstone's sea.